More Reflections


Recently, I thought about some of the things I learned during this class,  Granted, instead of doing a mass amount of reading from a text, there were specific articles to read, but also gaining info. from a varity of other sources, like video, podcasts, TED  talks and a couple of live/online web chats.  It really goes to show how one can gain information and become knowledgable using technology.  I suppose this is part of what connectivism is all about.

I continue to think of my digital project and my contribution to the collaborative wiki.  Was it enough?  Did I do what was required?  Yes, I have learned many new tools and ideas over the course of this semester, but was it sufficient? For me, or for Alec?  I think one of purposes of this class was how things would continiue when the class ends.  Do we still implement the ideas we have learned, maybe just not as rapidly?  Is this all going to end?  I know my digital project will continue to evolve.  For instance, I started a class wiki for my Law 30 students and connect to the course blog through it.  This was NOT part of the plan when I first started.  I find I am taking the initial project idea and am wanting to make it evolve into something better all the time.  Not because I have to but because I want too.  This reflective blog should continue as well because of the contacts I have made all over the world.

There have been side projects as well.  In addition to the wiki I just started, I have one or two teachers connecting their students with students, who are children of Cirque du Soleil performers.  I have to thank Sharon Peters for this.  I have Skyped with Clarence Fisher and gained new ideas as well.  My tech. catalyst teacher and myself are starting a school blog or wiki and will hopefully be running soon.  I hope to have all staff with Delicious acounts soon as well, so more collaboration can take place. 

Basically, I am saying that in addition to my formal projects, there are many side projects being developed now as well, even though I did not put them as part of my formal course, but I think they needed to be mentioned.  Overall, I see some good things developing in the future.

    • Laurie
    • April 7th, 2008

    You have stated this well Dave. This course was titled “Computers in the Classroom”. I would say that I have a better idea of how to use computers in the classroom. I too loved the fact that we learned in a variety of ways (as mentioned above). As a leader, I am glad that I can speak positively about using opensource tools in the classroom and I can support teachers as they take their journey. As we learn, (as you say) things evolve because we want them too AND they only get better. Well said!!

  1. Dave, I too really enjoyed not being bound by a text in this class, which can often be very one-sided. I find that I learned far more and was excited to read the articles/blogs or view the videos because it was always something new.

    I have similar concerns about what is enough of a contribution. It perhaps would have been nice to have a little more structure around our assignments, just so we knew what was acceptable levels of contribution. We just have to hope that what we did was enough!

    • Shaun Loeppky
    • April 9th, 2008

    My impression from my conversations with Alec is it is not so much the content but the process. I believe he knows that this is an evolving period with our experimentation and production and that the results will come over time. Just like a beginning teacher, we need to continue to practice our craft. From your comments, I am very impressed with your evolution, which will extend far beyond the end of this course.

    • kibrown
    • April 15th, 2008

    Sounds like you’ve taken some the new tools introduced and run with them. I think that the most important part of your post is that you want to try to implement more technology into your teaching life. Good luck and enjoy.

    • tammysillers
    • April 15th, 2008

    I shared many similar ideas in my reflection as you have Dave, especially regarding the urge i’m finding to WANT to use technology more in other areas of my work and even personal life. I think this class is just the beginning of our journey, really.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

