Some Reflections


I was thinking about this last week’s material and remembered the questions Alec had placed on the session summaries.

What are the implications of moving from individualized learning models to networked constructivism? How/will/should this translate to teaching and learning?

Just like the name implies, we are constructing knowledge and new methods of learning. We have used a traditional method of learning for over one hundred years, with some new twists. Even though we have the web and so much potential, education will not change overnight. The traditional mindset is tough to break. Other implications include technology infrastructure, who doe we link with…inside schools, other school’s or with the world wide web. The privacy and safety issues are always a concern as well. It is tough to change a system in general, and with the web changing so rapidly, I believe this makes the task even more difficult.

Consider this presentation in light of what you know about professional development, school change, teacher resistance, or other important educational issues.

I believe I touched on some of these already, but PD for teachers is key. It is also important how they receive this PD for technology. I personally (right or wrong) have not attended tech. PD sessions if I could not sit at a computer to “learn as I do.” I just tune out after a while because I cannot retain the info. I want. As for teacher resistance, technology changes so rapidly, I believe many just get frustrated. There is so much out there to use, but what does a teacher use? Leadership in this area is key. Use something yourself and demonstrate the benefits of it. You then model for others. I’ll see if my blog’s/wiki’s can help my staff down the road.

    • lichtenwald
    • February 5th, 2008

    Good reflections Dave. PD is a vital component of shifted education and you are correct that we have evaluate our PD sessions for value. In some ways I think we need to move beyond that traditional method of PD sessions. We have the tools to introduce what Jennifer Jones, calls “Viral Professional Development”. By creating and reflecting on this blog you are creating content that contributes toward PD that happens outside of scheduled sessions. I encourage you to share and promote your blog among your colleagues, at the very least they will get a taste of these new technologies.

    • traviskelln
    • February 5th, 2008

    I agree with the PD component and the fact that leadership is necessary. As someone who is not a technological leader, I have little idea of the technological tools available and which tools could or should be implemented into a classroom setting. I like my freedom as an educator, but I also appreciate being dictated to at times . . . being told “use ‘this’ for this class and ‘that’ for that class (especially if it is in an area I know little about). This sort of direction from technological leaders would benefit me (and most likely others like me). Technology is way too overwhelming if you have no direction . . . leadership could provide this direction for many educators.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

