Stephen Downes


Tonight my EC&I 831 class listened to a presentation with Stephen Downes.   I previously heard comments about him regarding his expertise in the Edtech field.  From the presentation, these comments were very true.  He provided a detailed background of a new software.  I can best describe it as a combo of WordPress, Google Reader, Delicious, etc.   I have to admit, I was in over my head, especially once the design part of the software was discussed.  I know nothing about html code or programming in general.  Bad experiences in high school deterred me from programming and software design.  I guess I just use all the neat things that are designed.

Stephens also commented about two specific items:

  • Where learners are in control, thus how do you teach?

I feel this is a very new area in teaching although it has been discussed for some time now.  It is tough for a teacher to completely give control over to students regarding their learning.  I also am not sure our educational system is ready for this, even though it gets discussed all the time.

  • read, remix, respond, disseminate.

We are learning this through this course.  It is what we have been doing on a daily basis since January.  I think that this idea is great to implement further into student learning and through technology implementation.

    • Corey Terry
    • March 12th, 2008

    Dave, I’m so glad to hear you say that, because I felt a bit over whelmed with the conversation as well. I did appreciate the overall conversation on the back channel chat that talked about PLC’s and the PLE. I think I understand the key difference that being a network is a cognitive connection with others.

  1. I was also overwhelmed with the html and code talk. I’m a user of the programs and software and fortunately we have people like Stephen Downes who are thinking about code and creating the cools things for us to use.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

