Chris Lehmann


On Tuesday night, Chris Lehmann was our guest presenter.  He provided insight on his new school SLA.  He also described the grounding philosophy on how the school operates along with the role technology plays in this inquiry model.  Specifically:

  • How do we learn?
  • What can we create?
  • What does it mean to lead?

From this presentation, I feel this school does a good job of setting common goals or purposes.  They use inquiry and set the structure of the school around common goals.  All staff members teach toward the common purpose and parents know what the school’s mission is up front.   I am reading a book by Mike Schmoker and he describes effective schools as ones who collaborate and are totally focused on a common purpose, that is, to improve student learning.  I think many schools in Sask. are learning this through the PLC philosophy as well.

The 1:1 learning philosophy is something we would all love to have.  I am not sure if we all need a laptop to do this, but I am sure it helps.

I was also intrigued to hear that students spend much of a school day online.  This is part of their inquiry model.  I was somewhat surprised to hear they have the same issues monitoring students online as we do.  Maybe that is something we should look into more?

Related blog posts:

Suzanne, Laurie

  1. I agree that the idea of having parents, staff and students all aligned with the mission of the school and having a common purpose is very important. I definitely think that monitoring our students online is a huge issue, but I am not sure that it is one that is easily fixed.

    • Laurie
    • March 28th, 2008

    I would love a 1:1 program. However, I am not sure that we will see many in our district because of cost. Our district is heading in the right direction with mobile carts but we have a ways to go. We have given every teacher a laptop and that is a good thing. We now need more access for students. I am doing a 1:1 project with a small group of students. They love it, they are struggling students who are engaged. It sure makes my life easier too because all the students are engaged. So far, no inappropriate use by students but we are only in the beginning stages.
    The idea of effective schools focusing on student learning is huge. I think we are in the beginning phases of this.

    • Ken Meredith
    • March 31st, 2008

    It’s interesting to see the same problems with appropriate use of technology and kids. Kids will be kids.

    I thought the monitoring piece would be a road block; however, Chris gave the impression that it should be expected and they deal with it as it comes. This is an excellent way to approach inappropriate use.

    • Corey Terry
    • March 31st, 2008

    1:1 learning is a dream, but I can’t understand why wireless networks can’t be used on a regular basis? If students want to use their computers at school, they should be allowed to do so. I think it will happen naturally at its own pace anyway.

    • Shaun Loeppky
    • March 31st, 2008

    At our school we have a strict policy that all students who are online must have a staff present to monitor student “initiative”.

    We have NO filters in our system, although I believe we have the capacity to use them. I teach my students every year (and throughout) that when they may stumble across inappropriate content, hit the monitor power button and raise their hand. It works.

    I am curious how other schools “monitor”….

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

