Concert Weekend


Ok, now for a totally non-educational post, but hey it’s my blog right. I can do what I want!

Tonight, will culminate my concert weekend that I have been looking forward to for quite a while. Well, it began on Thursday, but close enough to the weekend anyways.

On Thurs., I had the pleasure of seeing George Thorogood and the Destroyers . Once again, it was a great show with some down to earth blues and rock and roll. They played a smaller venue but it had great sound. In fact they could have probably sold another show out.

GTD was not able to play the next night because Bobby Vinton was there the next night. No, I did not attend this as part of my concert weekend because I just did not know about it till a few days ago. I don’t think I would have rushed for tickets, but hey- Bobby is still a legend, right? (Sort of tongue in cheek here!!!) Oh the classics I missed – Blue Velvet, Roses Are Red, Mr. Lonely, Special Angel, etc. Well, I’ll get over it somehow!

The biggest show of the weekend is tonight at the Brandt Centre when RUSH takes the stage for its Snakes and Arrows Tour. While I do not know every RUSH song, I do know quite a few and have enjoyed this band for a long time. The technical aspect of their music is probably what makes them popular, plus they just have good tunes. The band has not played Regina since 1978, so I had to attend while I had the chance. They always have a good stage show. See the video below for some footage of both performers.

GTD

RUSH


Should be a great show!!! Yes, I am in the ’80’s still!!!

  1. Have a good time rockin out Dave!

    • Laurie
    • May 26th, 2008

    I’m jealous. I didn’t know these concerts were happening. Hope you had a great time!!!

  2. My friend had four free tickets to Bobby Vinton ($52.50) so I tagged along not knowing what I was getting myself in for. We had a good time, sang along and were generally impressed with his talent. Bobby’s 73 years old and at one point was out in the crowd getting shmoozy with the audience. He started singing with a women who turned out to be my mom’s friend. It was a sold out concert. Who knew that there were so many Bobby Vinton fans in Regina?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

