Project Update


I am evaluating the projects I had my grade 12’s do.  If you remember, I let them pick the format and gave guidelines as to some of my expectations.  In all, they had quite a bit of freedom as well.

Students were able to pick a format they liked, which I am told, plays to the whole aspect of multiple intelligences. Two students created digital projects.

Some work so far has been good.  Some basic items like not reading from slides during presentations, still happened (grrrrrr.)  I have my rubrics to evaluate and provide a lot of feedback.  Students do a self-evaluation as well.

So now the end result, I have to put a number to this.  Suggestions anyone?

    • lgatzke
    • June 15th, 2008

    When I use rubrics, I convert the evaluation to either a number of letter grade depending what is required for the report card. I save a copy of the rubric in case parents dispute the mark. Then I pull out the rubric, show the criteria and can easily show where the student falls in the rubric. If I am using student evaluations, I put a weight on the mark. For example student participation might be work 10% (this is where I would put the evaluations), projects and daily work might be work 60%, quizzes 10% and the final exam & mid terms (it seems that this is common pratice in highschool) 20%. Hope this helps.

    • Corey
    • June 17th, 2008

    Very nice website.

    • Shaun Loeppky
    • June 17th, 2008

    “Students do a self evaluation as well.” I would sit down with the students and have them defend their evaluation based on the goals of the project. Almost like a professional discussion of pros and cons. Then from there, I would ask them to choose a mark and you choose a mark, then come to an agreeable compromise. In most cases, the marks are usually fairly close especially if the objectives are clear.

    My opinion. In the end document it all and nothing will come back to you in the end (literally!)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

