Trying to Get Back Into the Swing


It has been a while since my last post.  I guess I hit a bit of a block.  Not that I did not have material to write about, rather I just did not want to type!  Ridiculous I know but that’s what happened.  I did continue to read many blogs, as usual.  Many have provided info. for me in the upcoming school year.

So far, our start-up to the year has been good.  As usual, it looks like it will be very busy, the same for all of you in the edublogosphere.

I decided to hold a technology session each week for staff, that is open ended, similar to the one’s Sue and Anne do.  I think I even called it WIWOW as well, but of course we had issues, or me rather.  I probably will have flag football games on this day so i will have to find another day.  Still, I think it’s a step in the right direction.

For myself, I am incorporating blogging, Voicethread, podcasting and wiki’s into my teaching this year.  The latter three are pretty new to me.  However, I am trying to find ways that students will a) learn more, b) develop better higher order thinking skills c) be more interested in social sciences.  We will see how some of this pans out.

As well, I am trying to “digitize” my lessons. which is a huge undertaking.  Wish me luck!

    • Laurie
    • September 1st, 2008

    Go Dave Go! I too am trying to build PD and discussions about technology into what I do. For many, they are learning and many are still frightened. I was please on Friday when someone asked me if I would do a PD session on wikis. This is right in our school at the school level.
    For what it’s worth, I think this is of major importance…..school based. I am beginning to think we can have people working at the district level on this but from what I have seen the trickle down into schools and teacher practice is very minimal.
    Good luck….I’ll be continuing to read your blog.
    Check our my classroom page and blog at http://henrybraun.rbe.sk.ca/node/121
    Take care and have a great year!!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

