The Career Path


cc licensed Flickr photo shared by MGSpiller

One of my “habits” is my perpetual inclination to reflect on the past.  I know we should live for the future, but old habits are tough to break.  I do not believe this to be a negative because as educators, we are taught very early about reflecting and doing it regularly.  The journals I wrote in university were a “pain” but helped me reflect on best practice and shape my teaching style.  I am sure many other educators had similar experiences.

At the beginning of my teaching career, I never thought I would be living or doing the job I am now.  I distinctly remember at one time saying, “No way I would be a principal,” but here I am.  My hope early on was to be  a P.E. teacher in the city and possibly a head football coach for the high school I taught at.  How much has changed?  I am a principal that teaches History with a little P.E. here and there in a small town.  In fact, almost my whole career has been in a small town.

Did you follow your career path in education the way you thought you would?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

