PLN Start Up Session


Well I really did it this time. I opened my mouth and look what happened.

I am facilitating a PD session for school start-up.  Topic: Creating Your Own PLN.  Target: School Administrators.

Why do I do this to myself.  Like I know anything about this.  Probably just wanted to look good in front of everybody, but in reality will probably find a new way to embarrass myself. 

At least this is what my wife tells me.  😛

I could make up an excuse, but that’s even more work.  Maybe the Couros boys are available.

At least I can write the session description.  Any input is welcome.  Thx. to @sram_socrates for his imput.   You can find his blog here.

Session Description:

Do you find it tough to keep up with trends in education?  Would you like information to come to you, rather than searching for it?  How can a school admin. learn and use technology to  better lead their school’s and improve learning?  Do you want to “open the network door?”  If you have asked yourself these questions, then this workshop its for you.

In this session, administrators will learn how to build their own PLN using current social media tools.  Admin.’s will learn to use Google Reader, Twitter, Diigo and blogs to start them on their journey.  If time permits, other media may be introduced.  School admin’s. will create a framework that provides them with consistent PD and improved technology skills to better lead their school.

Important: Participants must create a google account including gmail prior to this session.  Creating your Twitter account would benefit as well.  No need to do anything with these app’s, we’ll do that in the session.

  1. I will be virtually there if you need me! Sounds like a great session and I know that you will definitely do the “Couros Boys” proud. Let me know if you need anything and I can try to make arrangements to be there at least virtually to help you out.

    Good luck!

    • courosa
    • August 4th, 2010

    Sounds awesome, Dave. If you need anything from the Couros Bros, or anyone else, let us know. We’ll do our best to help.

    All the best on the session – and keep fighting for this very necessary transition.

    • Thx. guys. I was thinking of Skyping or Ustreaming you guys in and then just run the session. Ha! 🙂 I am pondering bringing someone in but will have to ensure this can happen.

      I will keep you updated.

  2. I’ll give you any help you need not that I have nearly as much to offer as the Couros brothers! Let me know if I can be of assistance. Good luck, may the force be with you!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

